United States Congressional Delegation visits North Macedonia

A U.S. Congressional Delegation led by House Democracy Partnership Chairman Vern Buchanan, and including Representatives Norma Torres, Terri Sewell, John Rutherford, Claudia Tenney, Carlos Gimenez, Anna Paulina Luna, and Jenniffer González-Colón visited North Macedonia on May 5.

The delegation, accompanied by Chargé d’Affaires Eric Meyer, met with Deputy Speaker Goran Misovski and other members of North Macedonia’s parliament as representatives of the U.S. House Democracy Partnership (HDP).  A bipartisan Commission of the U.S. House of Representatives, HDP works with parliaments around the world to support the development of effective, independent, and responsive legislatures.  HDP runs a partnership program between the U.S. Congress and the Parliament of North Macedonia, which facilitates the sharing of best practices among legislators and improves bilateral ties.  The delegation discussed our strong security partnership and key issues related to strengthening government institutions through legislative oversight, transparency, and citizen-oriented governance.

While in North Macedonia, the delegation also met with Minister of Defense Slavjanka Petrovska and with representatives of the American Chamber of Commerce.